Fedora 26 Beta – the Killer Distro

Lately, I have been distro-hopping way too much, effectively lowering the output of my Java bytecode. However, that’s over, at least for now. I jumped from Lubuntu to Fedora to openSUSE to Lubuntu again and long story short I ended up with all of my computers (but not my family…) converted to Fedora 26 Beta. One might think it’s too soon since Fedora 25 is not end-of-life just yet. Too soon for the faint of heart maybe, not so for a geeky daredevil such as myself!

fedora_dog
A cute Fedora doggie courtesy of the Internet

I tested Fedora 26 Beta as an upgrade from Fedora 25 on a legacy Dell Latitude E5500 (32-bit Intel Pentium M 575 + Intel GMA graphics), an aging and equally legacy MacBook 2008-2009 (64-bit Intel Core 2 Duo + nVidia Geforce 9400M GT) and yet another fossil PC – the Fujitsu-Siemens Celsius R650 (Intel Xeon E-series + nVidia Geforce 295 GTX). Each installation used the Fedora 25 LXDE spin as its base to keep things similar. No issues whatsover, even despite the fact that I heavily rely on the RPM Fusion repositories for nVidia and Broadcom drivers. This stands in stark contrast to any attempts to update Lubuntu or any Ubuntu spin I have tried thus far. My apologies beforehand, but personal experience with Ubuntu and its children is lacking on all fronts. Upgrading to a new release (even if it’s an LTS!) is like bracing for a tsunami. It will hit, hard. It seems that the dnf system-upgrade plugin has been perfected and is ready for shipping. Fresh installations of Fedora 26 Beta with LXQt were done on 2 PCs – an ASUS Vivobook S301LA (Intel Core i3 + Intel HD 4600 graphics) and an HP-Compaq Z200 workstation (Intel Xeon E-series + nVidia Quadro FX 1800). This time I used the Workstation flavor netinstall disc image as base. Again, only positive surprises here. All of the core Qt apps worked as intended. I was especially curious about Qupzilla, since it would often crash on other distributions (same with the webkit-gtk based Midori, in fact). I managed to write this entry/article without a single crash. I believe it is a testament not only to the various Fedora teams, but also to the Qupzilla, Qt and LXQt people who keep pushing forward with awe-inspiring zeal. Props, kudos and cheers!

Fedora 26 Beta is a great sign that Linux can into space. The experience is bug-free, solid and developer-ready so that I can return to taxing the OpenJDK JVM with peace of mind. Matter of fact, I begin to like Qt as a GUI framework and I am considering contributing to the Fedora project more ardently. They continuously provide me with great tools, I want to give something in return. We all take, we all should give.

Leave a Reply

