Curing GUI Phobias

Since some time I’m a happy openSUSE camper, yet often frequenting the main Fedora IRC channel. Truth be told, It was tough to decide between those two distributions as both are extremely solid and bug-free. My third choice would fall to one of the Ubuntu spins (Xubuntu or Lubuntu most likely). Eventually,  I realized I’m less and less inclined to put in that extra time to set up Arch Linux or Gentoo per self-indulgence. I know I would be able to, but why should I? I’m familiar enough with Linux to roll any distribution. It seems my impressions go hand in hand with those of Roger from Dedoimedo (http://www.dedoimedo.com/computers/why-not-arch-linux.html). I’m sure he too would be able to install Arch Linux on any PC of his choosing, though again why should he?

Many modern Linux distributions are solid, finished products. You can install them on anything from a bootable USB or DVD and just get things done. That’s precisely the point. It took years, buckets of sweat and units of blood to reach that state. However, now we’re here! More so, we’ve beaten Windows, because it’s still as much of a pain to install as it used to be a decade ago. Therefore, instead of repeating the rite of passage (read: installing Gentoo or Linux From Scratch on a laptop), we should move forward. There is this wrongly placed elitism in some of us in the Linux and Unix communities (mea maxima culpa!) that if you don’t run a hardcore distribution on your shoddy PC, you’re not nerdy enough. So far from truth this be! Nerdy stuff can be done on virtually any of the mainstream distributions. You can set up servers running Ubuntu Server (duh!). You can build datacentre grade boxes with openSUSE Leap. File server on Raspberry Pi? Yup. And so on. No need to spend hours hacking the Linux kernel to squeeze out that extra 0.000000001% performance gain, thinking that alone makes us Computer Wizards. The important thing about mainstream distributions to bear in mind is that someone poured hours of their free time to assemble together the Linux kernel, utilities, a desktop environment, repositories, etc. All of this so that we wouldn’t have to do it ourselves. Isn’t that golden? Truly, we should build on that rather than shun it.

I understand this stands in stark contrast to my former preachings. I, like many others, have escaped from Windows because it was overburdened with black-box utilities and hidden system services. It was a pain to fix without bricking it entirely. However, it’s actually nice to have a pretty GUI and helper tools to simplify system maintenance. The main difference is that Linux-based operating systems are highly malleable, well-documented and can be adjusted to our liking. I realized that’s probably the main reasons I switched.

