The Open in BSD

I wrote about OpenBSD a bit in the past. Since then I’ve been distro-hopping plenty like a nervous flea that I am. Eventually, I put Debian 9.1 Stable on some of my machines and that’s what I run at work out of convenience and in case someone needs Linux-related help. I cannot say I don’t like it. To me Debian feels like the FreeBSD of the GNU/Linux side of FOSS. It’s sensible. It’s stable. However, I quickly tire of the systemd hiccups, focus on flashy graphical frameworks and other annoyances. Then, I turn to the BSD world with FreeBSD on my home workstation and OpenBSD on this here VAIO laptop. Admittedly, I was somewhat curious about hardware compatibility in release 6.1. This laptop is more powerful than the Intel M based Dell Latitude E5500 I used for testing OpenBSD previously. Also, the VAIO ran Debian 9.1 well enough that I could do actual work without waiting long minutes for a JavaScript-infested Web page to load. How would it cope with OpenBSD however?

Installing OpenBSD is fairly straightforward and if someone has ever installed Gentoo or Arch Linux….well, OpenBSD is easier! Out-of-the-box we even get an X11 server called Xenocara together with the xenodm display/login manager (not mandatory). Somewhat unfortunately, the default window manager CWM looks extremely dated and the black-white-grey dotted background would hurt my eyes. Not to worry, though. Openbox was just a pkg_add away. In fact, most of the tools I use every day were also, hence I didn’t really miss anything. It’s FOSS and I guess I shouldn’t be surprised that I can reproduce a fairly standard setup on another OS. The critical point for me was whether I could install all of the Python machine learning modules I use for writing regression tests. pandas, matplotlib and numpy are usually available from software repositories. Granted, not on every single open-source operating system. Luckily, the Python package installer PIP provides fantastic means of interoperability, which I encourage everyone to use. Even with Windows *cough* *cough*. Soon after PIP completed its work  I was set up and good to go!

OpenBSD

My desktop look – courtesy of myself (and the wallpaper’s author)

Then there is the usual How to make my system more polished? I got myself a nice OpenBSD wallpaper from the Interwebs (see: image above) and proceeded to reading the official documentation to understand the system better. The login environment is handled by the Korn Shell (the extra crispy OpenBSD variant of the Korn Shell, mind you), From there we add packages with pkg_add and modify them with a slew of other pkg_* tools. If anyone is familiar with former releases of FreeBSD, he or she will know the pkg_* commands. The system (kernel + core utilities) and the Ports Collection source code trees are tracked via AnonCVS, a largely improved CVS fork. It’s quite noticeable that the OpenBSD project strives to tweak and improve existing tools in order to make them more secure. I still need to figure out how to adjust the sound volume efficiently via mixerctl. Perhaps I’ll write a thin GUI client in Java or Python (or port my favourite volumeicon) in case none are available. Or just map a set of keyboard keys to mixerctl calls.

When comparing open-source operating systems, especially BSDs vs GNU/Linux distributions, people often consider things like system performance, resource usage, software availability, etc.

  1. Is OpenBSD faster than Debian? Not really. However, on modern PCs any open-source operating system is faster than Windows or MacOS X. This should come as no surprise.
  2. Does it use less system resources? Perhaps a tiny bit, though many open-source programs are portable and any optimizations are rather accidental. To give you an idea Openbox + WordPress opened in Firefox + mpv playing a jazzy tune amount to ~700 MB RAM in total. Not too shabby, right?
  3. Are programs X, Y and Z available? This largely depends on what tools one requires for work. The typical assortment (LibreOffice, GIMP, Inkscape, etc.) is there for the taking. Also, GUI tools can be replaced with CLI tools with minimal effort (for instance, Irssi/WeeChat instead of HexChat). The only real limitation I noticed so far is programs that are only accessible in binary form or certain device drivers with binary-only blobs (see: nVidia). OpenBSD has a strong policy against closed-source software and unless the company in question has a good reputation of providing quality software consistently, I think full source code disclosure is the right way to go.
  4. Is my hardware well supported? For device drivers see above. Other than that most (if not all) Intel-based hardware works as well as on GNU/Linux distributions. For improved 3D performance AMD is a fine choice, too. Perhaps webcam support is a bit lacking, but many models like the MacBook iSight even are supported.

The bottom line is this – OpenBSD is a great Unix-like operating system. It’s super secure and has one of the best documentations out there. If that’s your cup of tea, join the crew. If not, at least give it a try. I can assure you it’s worth it. Finally, a screenfetch for the geeks among us:

screenfetch_openbsd

